Feminist Book club across Canada

Sun, Oct 18, 2020 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm


Changed to 3rd Sunday in view of Thanksgiving weekend.

CUUWA Feminist Book Club meets monthly via zoom usually on the 2nd Sunday at 4 pm Pacific time. Several of us from UCV regularly attend.

On October 18 (please note: the date has been changed because of Thanksgiving weekend) and November 8, 2020, we will be discussing Robyn Maynard’s Policing Black Lives: State Violence in Canada from Slavery to the Present, as we wind up our learning program on the lives of Indigenous and racialized women and Queers.
Rev. Kathy Sage will be facilitating the October and November sessions and has shared the following information about our time together on October 18.

Format: 30 minutes together, followed by 15 minutes in small groups, and 15 minutes together to close.

Questions we will be discussing: 1) Did this book add to your understanding of systemic/institutional racism? 2) Can you share any insights about ‘white privilege’? 3) can you share any insights about ‘white fragility’?

Additional resources (of particular interest to those who have not had time to read or finish the book):Robyn Maynard’s Policing Black Lives traces history of black life in Canada: Review: Robyn Maynard’s Policing Black Lives traces history of black life in Canada

 

Confronting Canada’s ugly record of anti-Blackness:
‘We have nothing to lose but our chains’: Desmond Cole’s conversation with four Black Canadians: https://www.macleans.ca/politics/we-have-nothing-to-lose-but-our-chains-desmond-coles-conversation-with-four-black-canadians/

Why being ‘nice’ is bad for Canada: https://www.macleans.ca/opinion/why-being-nice-is-bad-for-canada/

François Legault sticks to position that systemic racism doesn’t exist in Quebec:
We meet on Zoom for one hour a week tomorrow and on the second Sunday of November at 20:00 (8 pm) Atlantic, 7 pm Eastern, 6 pm Central, 5 pm Mountain, and 16:00 (4 pm) Pacific
Jo-Anne Elder-Gomes co-chair of Canadian U*U Women’s Association coordinates with Mary Bennett from UCV assisting.
Canadian U*U Feminist Book Club
Time: Every month on the Second Sun, 8 pm Atlantic, 7 pm Eastern, 4 pm Pacific etc.

Here are some UCV website links with background information

Feminist Books by Debra Sutherland

Original post

 


Categories

Map Unavailable

Categories:

Books Library Performance • Community • Zoom